header-l header-r

PLU Places Third in NWC All-Sports Trophy Race

2011-12 NWC All-Sports Trophy Release

Pacific Lutheran moved up one spot from last year's finish to place third in the 2011-12 Northwest Conference McIlroy-Lewis All-Sports Trophy standings.

Whitworth won its fifth consecutive McIlroy-Lewis Trophy, scoring 259 total points to run away from the conference's other eight schools. Whitworth won outright team titles in men's cross country, volleyball, men's basketball, men's swimming, and men's track & field, and shared NWC championships in men's soccer (with PLU) and baseball.

Linfield used NWC spring championships in women's tennis, softball, and men's golf to jump from fifth place through the winter to second place in the final standings with 205 points.  Pacific Lutheran stayed in third place with 184 points, followed by Puget Sound with 179, Willamette 177, Whitman 167, Pacific 161, George Fox 137, and Lewis & Clark 131.

Pacific Lutheran won the all-sports trophy 15 times over a 17-year period from 1986 until 2002. Since then PLU has finished third (this year), twice tied for fourth (this year and 2007), and finished fifth on the other seven occasions.

The Northwest Conference All-Sports Trophy recognizes athletic excellence among Northwest Conference institutions across all fields of competition. It is named in honor of John Lewis, the baseball coach (1947-72), basketball coach (1947-67) and athletics director (1952- 72) at Willamette University; and Jane McIlroy, Linfield College's women's athletics director and physical education professor from 1950- 82 who also coached field hockey (1952-81), basketball, volleyball, softball and tennis.

- PLU -