Choose Sport

  • All
  • M
  • W
No Events

DenAdel, Wilson Win PLU Invitational Titles

Alan DenAdel leads alumni runner Destry Johnson
Alan DenAdel leads alumni runner Destry Johnson

Alan DenAdel won the men's race and Amanda Wilson finished first in the women's division at the 2012 PLU Cross Country Invitational held Saturday morning at Pacific Lutheran University.

DenAdel finished the 8000-meter course in a time of 26:00.53, pulling gradually away from PLU alumni runner Destry Johnson. Despite DenAdel's performance the Pacific Lutheran team placed second to Green River CC, the Lutes scoring 47 points and Green River 31. Olympic College placed third with 73 points, followed by UBC Okanagan with 78.

For PLU, Kyle Smith placed 17th (28:43.69), Jordan Steves 18th (28:51.30), Joseph Mungai 21st (28:58.03), Eric Herde 27th (30:00.99), Matt Beal 28th (30:43.38), and Andy Jensen 30th (31:39.55).

Wilson continued her strong showing over recent weeks, winning the 6000-meter run in a time of 24:16.23, with teammate Lauren Knebel placing third in 24:34.99 and Amanda Seely fourth in 25:08.52. That trio provided the impetus for PLU to win the team competition with 27 points, one better than UBC Okanagan. Those were the only scoring teams in the women's division as just 22 female competitors finished the course.

For PLU, Alyssa Rowland placed 12th (26:34.67), Madison Guscott 13th (26:35.65), Karissa Jackson 15th (27:10.39), and Tara Glynn 19th (31:38.66).

- PLU -